Alphaville: Journal of Film and Screen Media


About Alphaville

Alphaville is a fully peer-reviewed online journal edited and published by staff, PhD students and postdoctoral researchers in Film and Screen Media at University College Cork, Ireland.

Alphaville offers a dynamic international forum open to the discussion of all aspects of film and screen media history, theory and criticism through multiple research methodologies and perspectives. It cultivates inspiring, cutting-edge research, and seeks work that displays a clear engagement with current debates and with methodological issues.

The journal is open access to make a full contribution to international debates in film and screen studies and beyond, and considers articles, book reviews and festival, exhibition and conference reports. We are interested in the interfaces between cinema and all new media, and aim to utilise the online platform to its full capacity.

Alphaville is published twice a year, in Summer and Winter. It currently only accepts submissions in response to specific calls for papers that are advertised via the journal website and subject lists. There is no charge for authors to submit work to or publish in Alphaville.

Alphaville is listed in the Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ), WorldCat, and the Cork Open Research Archive (CORA), and indexed in the International Index to Film Periodicals (FIAF). Articles are archived in the Cork Open Research Archive (CORA).

The Alphaville Inaugural Conference took place at UCC on 7–9 September 2012, and the Second Alphaville Conference took place at UCC on 4–6 September 2014 (Conference Website).


Editorial Board

Journal Directors: Laura Rascaroli and Gwenda Young


General Editor: Laura Rascaroli

Secretary of the Board: Jill Murphy

Webmaster and Content Editor: Barry Reilly

Reviews Editor: Jill Murphy

Podcasts Editor: Michael Holly


Website Designer: Abigail Keating (Content Editor Issues 1-10).


Current Editorial Board

Davide Abbatescianni (University College Cork)

Stefano Baschiera (Queen's University Belfast)

Ciara Chambers (University College Cork)

Yuanyuan Chen (Ulster University)

Pierluigi Ercole (De Montfort University)

Loretta Goff (University College Cork)

Michael Holly (University College Cork)

Marian Hurley (Dublin International Foundation College, Cork)

Abigail Keating (University College Cork)

James Mulvey (University College Cork)

Jill Murphy (University College Cork)

Dan O’Connell (University College Cork)

Stefano Odorico (Trinity Leeds)

Nicholas O’Riordan (University College Cork)

Aidan Power (University of Exeter)

Laura Rascaroli (University College Cork)

Humberto Saldanha (University College Cork)

Caroline Schroeter (University College Cork)

Gwenda Young (University College Cork)


Founding Members: Marian Hurley, Abigail Keating, Deborah Mellamphy, Jill Moriarty, Jill Murphy, Stefano Odorico, Aidan Power, Laura Rascaroli, Gwenda Young.


International Advisory Board

Dudley Andrew (Yale University)

Stella Bruzzi (University of Warwick)

Francesco Casetti (Yale University)

Maeve Connolly (Dun Laoghaire Institute of Art, Design and Technology)

Elizabeth Cowie (University of Kent)

Angela Dalle Vacche (Georgia Institute of Technology)

Derek Duncan (University of St Andrews)

Catherine Fowler (University of Otago)

Mattias Frey (University of Kent)

Kathrina Glitre (University of the West of England)

Catherine Grant (University of Sussex)

Liz Greene (Dublin City University)

Mette Hjort (Hong Kong Baptist University)

Conn Holohan (National University of Ireland, Galway)

Michael Lawrence (University of Sussex)

Ewa Mazierska (University of Central Lancashire)

Laura McMahon (University of Cambridge)

Toby Miller (University of California Riverside)

Barry Monahan (University College Cork)

Douglas Morrey (University of Warwick)

Diane Negra (University College Dublin)

Dana Polan (Tisch School of the Arts, New York University)

Phil Powrie (University of Surrey)

Maria Pramaggiore (Maynooth University)

Stephanie Rains (Maynooth University)

John David Rhodes (University of Cambridge)

Michael Witt (Roehampton University)


ISSN 2009-4078

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License




Department of Film and Screen Media at University College Cork, 2011-2021
Contact Us:

Webmaster: Barry Reilly - Website design: Abigail Keating